Alcan 5000 logo
To absent fr
Each new Alcan helps us remember friends who won't pass
our way again, but continue to inspire and define our event.

A few participated once, many year after year.  Most died
of natural causes, others due to restless forces that made
them such memorable companions in our journeys.

2022 is dedicated to John Alkema, Fred Ankeny, Kevin Barrows and Jerry Leitch. John's first Alcan was 2000. He returned as entrant or staff through 2018 and was a wonderful resource & companion. Kevin first helped 1984 - 2002 staff Ham Wayne Moddison then became "Sweep 1" through 2020. In 1984 Fred represented Alcan sponsor BFGoodrich in Team T/A van "Orca", part of long Northwest motorsport support. Jerry joined staff in 1989 and held many roles, including Cycle Chair for our 2002 dual-sport intro
Happy trails, and we'll remember you in the quiet Northland
John Alkema
Fred Ankeny
Kevin Barrows
Gary Bockman
'Fast Eddie' Botwick
Gordon Cady

Mary Cady
Brian Davitt
Lew DeLong
Gary Diebolt
Jim Elder
Sue Elder

Harry Ferran
Joe Gardner
Rich Gordon
Jeff Gowdy
Tom Grimshaw
Paul Hadley

Rod Hall

Gene Henderson
Art Issler
Jerry Leitch
Ned Marandino
Don & Jackie Marsh
Greg Misbach
Wayne Moddison
Steve Norman
Paul Oskamp
Marge Petersen

Walter Petersen
Steve Richards

Al Schmit
Paul Shaver
Steve Skogmo

Coach Ramey Stroud
Gary Webb
Ron Weir

Willie Williams

Back to the Alcan home page